BC Provincial Examination Marks: English 12

Hello, all. This is my first time on this forum so it’s nice to be part of the avid community.

To the parents who have students in Grade 12 that took English 12 last term at Prince Rupert Secondary, many students had Provincial marks that were, more or less, equivalent to what they received in the class. However, I know that a few select individuals had outstanding marks on the Provincial, and not so outstanding marks in-class. The difference was at least an astonishing 15-20%. Not to bring the racial factor into this discussion but all of the individuals were of Asian descent.

I’m not saying that these students didn’t earn their marks. They probably busted their backs while taking this course. I’m probably overreacting to what’s happening but something like this triggers suspicion.

Excellent first post and welcome!
This is my favorite part,
"Not to bring the racial factor into this discussion but all of the individuals were of Asian descent. "
I am not sure I get your point, of the entire post tho?!?!

Aw Geez. Actually it is not all that uncommon for students to score higher marks in Provincial exams. These exams are set to meet the minimum Provincial standards and good teachers often set expectations above the Provincial minimum for their students. The reason for this is that teachers well know their students’ abilities and the Province not so much.
Still it is good to hear students doing well.

@Chief: I’m just saying that everyone else scored roughly around what they were getting in the class on their Exam.
Anyways, thanks for the warm welcome. It’ll be fun reading into the local gossips and such.

I also think that the Exam was much easier than other years. Most of my friends thought so anyways.
Maybe I’m just overreacting and maybe those guys probably earned their stripes. Just a few more months before they graduate and leave.