Rainbow Summit

Far too often we her of accidents on the highway, and often Rainbow Summit. I have driven this highway for my entire life. I feel comfortable driving it. However at Rainbow Summit, no matter what vehicle I am driving. I still find that with the turns, the pull from the decline of the road, and driving the “posted” speed limit, that it is one of the more awkward section to drive. And I think I am a compitent driver.

I would like to know if there would be support for there to be a lower posted speed limit. Say 70 Kmh or maybe even 60 kmh. Yes people will still go over it, but it will give new drivers, and not local driver who do not know the road ahead an idea of what to drive.

Also from memory there are long stretches with little or no barriers on the cliff side, I for one would give up “prestine view” to save even just one life.

We all know that road signs and other measures will not prevent poor choices which cause unfortunate results. But my hopes are that we can effect some change.

I drive 100 max on that stretch and I find it manageable, so 80 or 90 should be fine.

Just upgrade safety by adding barriers on the shoulder, rumble strips if it not had one, and even add a centre median barrier with passing lanes on hills. Also disallow passing on the two lane stretch where you have a less than 500m of safe sight line to do so. Not saying H16 should be a carbon copy of the new Sea to Sky highway or the 4-laning on the Caribou Highway, but rather upgrading to the highest safety standard while maintaining the speed limit of 90.

Excellent post and thread Expat, along the part of the Hwy. where this most recent very tragic accident occurred, over the past few years there have been several other vehicles gone over the edge here, and it is very steep, rugged and dangerous, and is an obvious place to have concrete barriers erected to protect this from happening, I don’t know why this has not been done already a long time ago.