Prince Rupert doctor shortage beyond stressful

A very stressful issue in our town. I hope some medical school graduates choose to move to our community.

Prince Rupert doctor shortage beyond stressful

I don’t feel this is a problem that is exclusive to Prince Rupert, at all. Look at how many clinics there are in any developed city that only take drop-ins to attempt to curb this. I have not had a family doctor my entire adult life until later last year. That’s ~20 years of going to a walk-in at 6 am and standing in line to beat the daily cutoff for an injury, prescription, professional medical, or going without. ER wait times in GP were often 10-14 hours for the entire time I lived there.

Is the shortage due to a lack of available positions, a lack of interest to live there, or better opportunities elsewhere?

If I was a medical graduate looking to settle down and start a career as a doctor, the north likely wouldn’t be on my list of places to work unless I was from the area and had sentimental ties.

1 Like

Sorry folks, but your complaints are too little and arriving too late.

The changes to the BC Health care system have been purposely taking place over a fair number of years and have been intentional. I would suggest that the streamlining, cost saving measures, allowance of limited privatization of services, and underfunding that has resulted in the current poor performance of the system has not been by happenstance. (Of course maybe I just can’t afford the high cost of my anti conspiracy meds these days).

Are you aware that there is currently a major case drawing to a close in British Columbia that may radically change the face of health care in the province?

The issue is not the Doctors, or the nurses, or the medical personnel you may encounter. For the most part they are dedicated, highly competent and compassionate service providers working under stressful conditions. By placing the blame on them you are misdirecting your anger and frustration.