Mixed Martial Arts Training

Mixed Martial Arts in Prince Rupert

With the recent popularity of professional mixed martial arts / U.F.C. many people are looking to train in arts that are proven effective in actual combat. Most people however are just looking for a great workout, to learn techniques and develop warrior spirit.  My name is Kelly McMahon and I am the coach at North Coast Mixed Martial Arts located right down town in Prince Rupert and I have been training for 17 years in Jiujitsu, wrestling, boxing, kickboxing, no-gi brazilian jiujitsu and combined mma. I trained regularly for years with the fight team at a club the produced  UFC fighters like Rory MacDonald; Toshido MMA, in Kelowna. While I train fighters, I feel the show “The Ultimate Fighter” which has featured members of Team Toshido does not convey how our club operates and what to expect. So.... what should you expect if you train at our club?

I have changed many things from the way I was taught in order to promote rapid growth in your development as aspiring martial artists. Our program has a curriculum and requires dedication but the rewards are a enormous. We push eating right, sleeping right, and drinking plenty of water. Health and well being are a focus, and mental well being is a huge by product as you build confidence and skill. We exercise and stretch every class. Moves taught are immediately useful and all combat ranges and ground positions, escapes  and sub missions are covered. The first patch alone has 250 things that must be learned. However well before that you will have acquired many many useful skills. By the time the first patch is complete you could easily be on your way to having an amateur fight if you so desired.