Laptop trouble

hey everyone, i’m new at this, so please don’t yell at me if i sound stupid.

my problem: i was on the internet and i my laptop froze after getting bombarded with pop-ups, so i restarted it. now, when i turn it on, it gets stuck on the start up page, and freezes there and nothing i have tried to get it to work has been effective. i tried running it in safe mode, and everything else i can think of, but nothing is working. so if anyone can give me some advice on how do delete windows to start over, i would greatly appreciate it.

What do u mean? windows works fine, but when you open IE your comp freezes? Or IE freezes?

i dont even have internet router plugged in. when i turn it on, everything works fine until it gets to the desktop. then it just freezes.

thanks for attempting to help :smiley:

Too bad ya didn’ read my post on the XP Recover CD Maker.

http://hackingthemainframe.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=63709

You could have made your self a recovery cd.
I am no way trying to be cocky (today). I know the frustrations of beign a newbie. But also try this from Microsoft.

Here is the link for (How to install and use the Recovery Console in Windows XP)

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=307654

Another powerful site is:

http://bootdisk.com/

P.M if ya need some assistance.

was written by XphantomX

Spybot search and destroy. If it does not clean in windows, it will attempt to clean b-4 windows starts up.

thanks, i’ll check it out.
and thanks for being patient. i know some stuff about computers, but for the most part i’m an incompetent idiot.

Do you by any chance have a program on your computer called wintune? or Ares, Kazaa?.. these programs are likely source of your problem if they are indeed on your computer.

Also, where did you get infected? Are you wireless?

Hold down shift before windows starts to load, that will disable any programs from running in the background. If your comp works then